The ISO 29100 privacy framework sets forth the following eleven core principles:

  1. Consent and choice
  2. Purpose legitimacy and specification
  3. Collection limitation
  4. Data minimization
  5. Use, retention and disclosure limitation
  6. Accuracy and quality
  7. Openness, transparency, and notice
  8. Individual participation and access
  9. Accountability
  10. Information security
  11. Privacy compliance

The ISO 27701 privacy framework is not explicitly organized using the

While theoretically an organization could adopt ISO 27701 as a separate standalone framework to apply to an organization’s privacy program, the framework was conceptualized as an extension of the ISO data security standards. As a result, it is organized based upon the assumption that an organization already has a security program that is built off

In 2019, the International Organization for Standards joint technical committee ISO/IEC JTC1, Information technology subcommittee SC27, developed a privacy framework that was intended to build off of the existing ISO data security standards – i.e., ISO/IEC 27001:2013 (Information security management systems) and ISO/IEC 27002:2013 (Code of practice for information security controls) – by integrating into

The NIST privacy framework refers to the term “current profile” to describe the current state of a company’s privacy program in relation to a specific Subcategory. So, for example, a company might include the following description in its current profile for the following subcategory:

Subcategory Current Profile
ID.IM-P1: Systems/products/services that process data are inventoried. The

The NIST privacy framework refers to the term “core” to describe a set of privacy activities and outcomes. The core is composed of three nested levels: Function, Category, and Subcategory.  Categories are intended to be subdivisions of the Functions, and groupings of the Subcategories. In total, the NIST privacy framework contains 18 Categories.